If you really care to know…

I’ve walked down all sorts of roads in college. I was accepted as a Biology, Pre-Dent and realized, after taking 36 hours my first year, I was miserable. I had no time to make friends or even appreciate campus because I was so busy trying to survive. What made it worse was the fact that I was out-of-state. I couldn’t even go home if I wanted to (kind of ironic because I chose out-of-state to leave home).

My second year, I changed to nursing. I didn’t have a passion for teeth…and pre-med was out of the option because I didn’t want to become a doctor. Since my parents had hopes for me in the medical field, nursing, I felt, was the only common ground. I spent two years completing the track without any doubts, and all was good until it hit me when I was applying to nursing school. This is it. This was going to be my life. Once I leave, there would be no turning back. That really got me thinking. Was I happy?

My third year influenced my decision to give myself another go at life. I saw a part of campus, of myself, of life that I had never seen before. I took a huge leap of faith and led the Korean Student Association. I had never led an organization before, and had no idea what I was up against. All I could do was trust in God, my officers and staff. Throughout the year, KSA won several competitions and even organized a banquet, which was a lot more than we had envisioned. Compared to my previous years, I had to be socially productive and creative. I met a lot of new people, helped organize meetings/events, attended events and surprisingly, wrote a lot as well (can you see where this is going?). It was a tough year, especially with my studies, but it was definitely one of the most memorable. I realized I loved working with people, whether as a leader or unseen laborer. I loved contributing new ideas and helping achieve a unified goal.

So, I did the unthinkable. I changed my major before my fourth year. I had many alternatives. At first, I only considered studies in the science field. It was what I knew best, and I wouldn’t have to spend an extra year. Then I thought, what’s the point of changing if I was going to study the same material all over again? 

After much thought and conversations with professors, I chose journalism. I am now in my second semester of my fourth year, and far from regretting my decision. I am in love with what I do and what my field requires from me. I love accepting the challenges that have been thrown at me and eager to see what I can accomplish.

The road here was a bumpy one and I don’t expect it to be smooth from here on out. In fact, it may become bumpier. It doesn’t matter, though, because I’m happy. 

Thank you for reading through all of that.

Leave a Reply

