Worth more than 5k

Saturday, March 19, 2016 was a complete mess. It costed me sleep, patience, and nearly several lives.

It all started with a 6 a.m. wake-up call. My friend and I had signed up for Baylor’s Bearathon 5K and planned to run it together. I got dressed and headed out to pick her up when I ran into the unexpected. The roads were blocked off for the runners. The half marathon runners had already started their race, and the police literally stopped all traffic for these runners.

I was in the car for more than 30 minutes when I noticed another group of runners. I got out of the car to talk to the closest policeman hoping he would let me pass through. I had no such luck. I told him that I was a Bearathon runner, but he responded telling me that it had already started. I went on to explain that I was a 5K runner and we were required to arrive at a later time. To my dismay, he pointed to the new group of runners I saw and told me that the 5K had already started as well. I walked back to my car flustered, and waited some more.

I was finally able to drive away, but the policeman directed the traffic left. I needed to take a right to pick up my friend.

persons-0019.png

Literally, this emoji is how I felt through the whole shebang.

I eventually picked up my friend, and we decided to go and try running the 5K even though we were late. Well, we walked over and finished the race. Literally.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 12.29.48 PM.png

We ended up walking in with those finishing the 5K. It was as if we were a part of the race all along! On the bright side, I finished before my friend (har).

The rest of the day flew by. We met up with a friend that was waiting for us at the finish, picked up our 5K shirts and went out to breakfast. I drove the wrong way in a one-way street, twice, but luckily, we all survived (clearly…). I finished a photoshoot, painted some canvases and ended the evening with some good ice cream.

Overall, the day did not go the way I had anticipated, but it was one of the best days I’ve had. (You’re probably thinking WHAT?)

What could have been one of the most embarrassing moments of my life became one of my most memorable. What made the difference? The people walking alongside me.

This 5K experience reminded me once more how valuable friendships are. It’s truly amazing and comforting to know that I have friends that will face life with me, no matter what obstacles may stand in our way.

“Friendship… is not something you learn in school, 

But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, 

You really haven’t learned anything.”

-Muhammad Ali

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 1.22.47 PM.png

Leave a Reply

